Hipster Intelligence Agency

You've Probably Never Heard Of Us

Sleep The Light Away

Cults the alt-pop duo from Austin Texas has an interesting video for their single Go Outside contructed from clips from Jim Jones’ People’s Temple and the lead up to the Jonestown Massacre.

Cults

Cults

The People’s Temple was a multi-cultural, multi-racial, utopian cult in San Francisco led by Jim Jones that operated the Jonestown Agricultural Community in Guyana, South America. The experiment ended in tragedy when 909 people were murdered on November 18, 1978. To an extent, the actions in Jonestown were viewed as a mass suicide; some sources, including Jonestown survivors, regard the event as a mass murder. It was the largest such event in modern history and resulted in the largest single loss of American civilian life in a deliberate act until the events of September 11, 2001.

One of the survivors was Richard Dwyer, a State Department official and suspected CIA operative.

I really want to go out
I really want to go outside
and stop to see your day

You really want to hole up
You really want to stay inside
and sleep the light away

Jim Jones, Charles Garry, Richard Dwyer. Jonestown, November 18, 1978

Jim Jones, Charles Garry, Richard Dwyer.
Jonestown, November 18, 1978

I really want to go out
I really want to go outside
and make it light all day

You really want to hole up
You really want to stay inside
and not care where you lay

Well I know what’s good
Exactly cause I have been there before
Yeah I know what’s good
Exactly those things night cannot behold

I really want to go out
I really want to go outside
and stop to see your day

You really want to hole up
You really want to stay inside
and sleep the light away

I think it’s good to go out
cause if you don’t you’ll never make a memory that will stay
I think that you should wake up
I think I want to live my life and you’re just in my way

Go OutsideCults

jonestown

2 comments on “Sleep The Light Away

  1. friendlyhipster
    October 27, 2013

    Reblogged this on friendlyhipster and commented:

    Very cool song … and very weird video!

  2. Hipster Racist
    October 27, 2013

    Reblogged this on Hipster Racist.

Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow Hipster Intelligence Agency on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

